The England Cricket Board has announced their 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup 2021. From the inclusion of Tymal Mills to the absence of Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer from the squad, the announcement was a surprise for many. They will be the among top contenders to win the WC, as they are the number one ranked T20 team, as well as defending champions of the 50 over World Cup. The tournament will begin on October 17 in the United Arab Emirates.

Analyzing England World Cup T20 Squad - Cricket Analysis Stats
Team Rankings T20 – Cricket Analysis Stats Data

So before analyzing the England squad, let us first look at the 15 members and reserves selected for the mega event.

England squad for T20 World Cup – Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Reserves –  Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, James Vince

Key Takeaways

The return of Tymal Mills

Now, one may remember Tymal Mills for his brilliant bowling to Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni during their series in India. His inclusion in the squad comes as a surprise to many as it was his last International series that he played against India in 2017. His selection is based on his good performance in the T20 Blast, which helped his team reach the final. He also had the best Bowling Economy that played a vital role in Southern Brave’s victory in the first season of The Hundred. The absence of Jofra Archer due to an elbow injury aided his cause as well.

Analyzing England World Cup T20 Squad - Cricket Analysis Stats
Tymal Mills The Hundred Economy – Cricket Analysis Stats Data

England short of Archer and Stokes

It would be a difficult assignment for England captain Eoin Morgan to lead his team without two of their strongest T20 players, as their premier all-rounder Ben Stokes will be excluded from the squad due to his recent announcement of an indefinite absence from cricket due to his mental health. They will also miss the service of their star bowler Jorfa Archer due to his elbow injury.

In the absence of Stokes, Chris Woakes and Sam Curran will be England’s major all-rounders. Chris Jordan, their leading wicket-taker, will be backed up by David Willey and Mark Wood. One of the strongest aspects of this England team is their batting depth, as they feature a large number of all-rounders.

What makes England a Top Contender for The Title

Dynamic Top Order – One of the key strengths of the England team will be their top batting order. Their 1st choice of opening batsman will be Jos Buttler, who himself has established himself as one of the best limited over batsmen and scores with a staggering strike rate of 150. They will have to choose between Jason Roy or Jonny Barstow for Buttler’s opening partner. Now, Their batting will revolve around their best T20 batsman Dawid Malan to provide. Malan is currently ranked Number 1 in the ICC Batman T20 ranking and also holds the record for 1000 T20 runs.

Analyzing England World Cup T20 Squad - Cricket Analysis Stats
Fastest to 1000 T20 runs – Cricket Analysis Stats Data

Experienced Spin Duo  – After cementing his position in the squad owing to his all-around performances in The Hundred’s debut season, all-rounder Moeen Ali’s spot in the squad will be imperative. He was among the top 5 scores of the tournament and also took 4 wickets, which helped his team Birmingham Phoenix secured a place in the final. Moeen’s experience in Asian conditions along with leggie Adil Rashid’s will be looking to do well on the UAE’s sluggish grounds, which will benefit spinners.

Liam Livingstone’s Blistering Form – Liam Livingstone, the top scorer in the recently concluded The Hundred Tournament, has been on a tear lately. He also hit a century against Pakistan earlier this year, and he has 180 runs at an incredible strike rate of 182.5. He, along with Eoin Morgan, will be crucial in keeping England’s middle-order stable.

Predicted Playing 11- Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes.