Afghanistan and Sri Lanka competed in the opening match of the 2022 Asia Cup, one of the most anticipated events. India, the most dominant team in tournament history, started their title defense against Pakistan on Sunday, August 28th.

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) hosted the Asia Cup in 2022. The upcoming edition of the cricket competition was initially scheduled to take place in Sri Lanka. Still, it was relocated to the middle east due to the island nation’s economic slump and social unrest.

The inaugural Asia Cup competition was also staged in the UAE in 1984. India not only won the inaugural competition but also won it six more times. On the other side, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, and Afghanistan have not yet succeeded.

Starting in 2016, the competition was played for the second time in the T20 format. The inaugural competition used the ODI format and took place in 2018. The Super 4 stage was then reached by the top two teams from each group. The victorious teams from the Super 4 phase competed in the championship on September 11.

Winners and hosts throughout the Asia Cup’s history

The Asia Cup, one of the largest international cricket competitions, dates back to 1984, when India, led by Sunil Gavaskar, won the first edition, played in the United Arab Emirates. Pakistan and Sri Lanka also participated in the round-robin style of the series.

India has won seven titles, making them the most successful team in the tournament’s history (1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018). Pakistan, which has won the title twice, is second on the list after Sri Lanka, which has six victories. Sri Lanka is the only group that has participated in all 15 tournaments.

Bangladesh has played host to the Asia Cup the most times (five). UAE will host the 2022 edition for the fourth time. India has only ever hosted the competition once, in 1990–1991, when it won its third championship by defeating Sri Lanka in the final in Kolkata.

Who participated in the Asia Cup qualifying competition?

At the Al Amerat Cricket Ground in Muscat, Oman, the Asia Cup qualifier featured competitors from Singapore, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Hong Kong, and many other teams available on this link The round-robin league stage champion advanced to Group A of the Asia Cup 2022.

Why was the Asia Cup moved from Sri Lanka to the UAE?

Due to the island nation’s political and economic crises, the Asia Cup was relocated from Sri Lanka in late July. The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) board acknowledged that hosting several nations presented logistical challenges.

What format did the Asia Cup 2022 follow?

A double round-robin format was used for the Asia Cup 2022, followed by the championship match. On August 27, six teams competed in the Asia Cup 2022 competition. First, however, a qualifying competition took place in Oman, and the victor was to compete against India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan in the tournament’s second stage.

India’s performance in The Asia Cup

Pakistan eliminated India from the Asia Cup 2022 championship when Pakistan defeated Afghanistan in a Super Four match in Sharjah by a margin of one wicket.

The victory also crowned Pakistan and Sri Lanka as the competition’s champions, with India and Afghanistan losing both Super Four games. A five-wicket loss to Pakistan and a six-wicket loss to Sri Lanka for Rohit Sharma’s team put them in danger and necessitated favorable outcomes from other events.

Since the 2014 competition, India has not suffered a loss in the Asia Cup. It won the first Asia Cup T20 competition in Bangladesh in 2016 with MS Dhoni at the helm and went on to win a second title in the UAE in 2018 with Rohit Sharma without dropping a game.

Sri Lanka’s Victory

This is a game that Sri Lankans and their supporters will never forget. The coin toss was unsuccessful for them. They were 58/5 decreased. Pakistan was once 93/2 in the pursuit. Dasun Shanaka’s side, on the other hand, didn’t give up and continued to battle and damage Pakistan. First, they reached a respectable total of 170/6 in 20 Overs thanks to an outstanding 71 not out from Bhanuka Rajapaksa. 

His spirited performance prevented Sri Lanka’s innings from falling apart. Dilshan Madushanka then bowled a disappointing opening in which he conceded nine extras. With the help of Pramod Madushan, Sri Lanka began to fight back and took two crucial wickets during the Powerplay to get rid of Babar Azam and Fakhar Zaman.

However, Mohammad Rizwan and Iftikhar Ahmed soon formed a strong alliance. To get rid of Iftikhar, Pramod came back, ending the coalition. Rizwan had already turned fifty, although he moved slowly. Then Wanindu Hasaranga bowled a devastating over, picking up three wickets, ending the match in Sri Lanka’s favor. 

Hasaranga added three more wickets to his 21-ball 36 earlier in the innings, while Madushan completed a four-wicket haul. Sri Lanka became the sixth-ever holders of the Asian Cup after bowling out Pakistan for 147 in 19.6 Overs.


The Asian Cup is a major cricket tournament that commands a significant following globally and can be betted on by the game fanatics on sites like Parimatch, which has excellent game insights for betting, and that way, you get to earn while enjoying the Asia cup.